SSP Students Honoured in City Hall Ceremony

January 30, 2020 | Girls’ College

On Saturday evening, 25 January, our SSP students attended the graduation of the Class of 2019 at Johannesburg City Hall. This prestigious ceremony was attended by students and their families, mentors, sponsors, staff, SSP alumni and other esteemed guests, and also included prize-giving for students in the younger grades. The Student Sponsorship Programme (SSP) was founded 20 years ago as a leadership development programme to nurture future leaders for South Africa. In this time, the programme has assisted thousands of students, many of whom are now prominent individuals in the South African business and entertainment worlds.

Daisy Ndebele (third from left) and Thando Zwane (extreme right) receive their awards from Ms Taulani Mudau (SSP Head of Academics) and Mr James Topp (SSP Sponsor; CEO Path Executive). Also pictured is Zarret Mills of the Boys' College (extreme left).

Three of the Girls’ College students were recognised as top achievers in their grades (there are approximately 20–25 students in each grade currently enrolled in the SSP Programme). This is a remarkable achievement, considering that SSP candidates are hand-picked and therefore often the top achievers within their respective schools. Thando Zwane (Gr 10, 2019) placed 3rd in the grade for English, as well as 3rd in the grade overall. Daisy Ndebele (Grade 10, 2019) placed 3rd for accounting. Zethulele Qwabe (Grade 9, 2019) placed 3rd in the grade for natural sciences and 2nd in the grade for life sciences. SSP students from the Boys’ College also featured prominently in the list of award recipients and we are proud of all our students for their achievements.

From left to right: Loatile Masondo, Zethu Qwabe, Ruth Lebese, Zoë Mpofu, Rachel Mutambara, Aaliyah Linkov, Nikita Jacobs, Precious Awe, Ms Liza Rakobila (Scholarships Coordinator, GC), Thando Zwane, Lindokuhle Yende, Precious Gwala

Our thanks to Ms Liza Rakobila (Scholarships Coordinator, GC) and Mr Mfundo Ncube (Campus Head of Marketing) for accompanying the students.