Reef Cup Water Polo Champions

March 06, 2019 | Girls’ College | Author: Pierre Le Roux

2019 Reef Cup Water Polo Tournament

The 2019 Reef Cup Water Polo Tournament took place at St Stithians College over the past weekend. The Reef Cup is the oldest schools Water Polo tournament in the country, now in its 45th year. The tournament consisted of sixteen girls’ and sixteen boys’ teams from across Gauteng. The girls’ teams include every water polo playing school in Gauteng as well as Northern and Eastern Gauteng. The boys’ section, also sixteen teams, have some additional teams from the Free State (Grey College) participating as well.

 The girls’ section was won by 2017 and 2018 champions St Stithians Girls’ College, who have now ended the season unbeaten with two national titles (Old Petrians and National Aquatics) and two domestic titles (Old Mutual Prestige Cup and Reef Cup). They beat their old rivals St Mary’s (Waverley) 7 – 2 in the final. This hat trick of wins make St Stithians Girls’ College end the season as South Africa’s number one ranked 1st team.  The boys’ section was won by St Alban’s College (Northern Gauteng) defeating the defending champions, St David’s Maris Brothers, 6 – 4 in a thrilling final.

Back Row: Jenna Loughor-Clarke, Bianca Kennerley, Samantha Varrie, Jennifer Everett, Shakira January, Natasja Troskie, Zànne Smit, Mr Pierre Le Roux (Coach)

Middle: Tamsin Hirst, Franki Gush, Ashleigh Jackson, Olivia Sim, Kathryn du Plessis

Front: Tatum Lomax, Nicolle Cronje, Jordan Wedderburn

Girls' College Final Team Standings

  1. St Stithians Girls' College
  2. St Mary's School (Waverley)
  3. Crawford College (Lonehill)
  4. Roedean School (SA)
  5. St Dominic's School
  6. St Peter's College
  7. Kingsmead College
  8. Rand Park High
  9. Fourways High
  10. Pretoria Girls' High
  11. Beaulieu College
  12. Reddam House (Bedfordview)
  13. Parktown Girls' High
  14. Tyger Valley College
  15. Dainfern College
  16. Hyde Park High

Congratulations to our players who were selected for the Girls "All Stars" Tournament Team

  • Zánne Smit (St Stithians)
  • Jennifer Everett (St Stithians) - Attacker of the Tournament
  • Tatum Lomax (St Stithians)
  • Nicolle Cronje (St Stithians)
  • Olivia Sim (St Stithians)
  • Jordan Wedderburn (St Stithians)
  • Natasja Troskie (St Stithians)