GC Students Excel in National English Olympiad

July 23, 2021 | Girls’ College | Author: Mrs Julie Arguile

This article was originally published on 6 July 2021. We have updated it to include the scholarship offers to Isabella Andrighetto and Gisela Sittmann.

Twenty senior students from Girls’ College took part in the National English Olympiad earlier this year. The theme for 2021 was “People and Personas”, and the candidates enjoyed reading and analysing a selection of interesting writings from a prescribed anthology, “This is my Story”. Thereafter, their writing skills were put to the test as they penned three pieces under examination conditions. Eight students attained Gold (80-89%) for the olympiad, with five of them placing in the Top 100 overall. 

Our students have always performed well in the Olympiad, but these are certainly the best results in the last 10 years. Hundreds of schools countrywide take part in this prestigious competition, so to have five of our students place in the Top 100 is phenomenal! —Mrs Julie Arguile

Isabella and Gisela have furthermore been awarded a cash prize by the English Olympiad (a joint project of the Grahamstown Foundation and the South African Council for English Education) and scholarship by Rhodes University (RU) that covers the cost of their first year's tuition for any degree offered at the university. Rhodes awards these scholarships to the Top 42 English Home Language achievers. They are congratulated on this exceptional achievement!

Gold (80–89%), Cash Prize and Scholarship to Rhodes University

Isabella Andrighetto

(14th overall)

Gisela Sittmann

(28th overall)

Congratulations to the following students on their excellent results:

Gold (80–89%)

Ella Bosman

(47th overall)

Chloe Nel

(87th overall)

Sidney Benard

(94th overall)

Leyah Haripersad

Amy McNally

Isabella Strydom

Silver (70–79%)

Abigail Adeleke

Stephanie Court

Christine Driver

Khanyisile Nkuhlu

Nyakallo Peete

Zethulele Qwabe

Aimee-Lee Webster

Bronze (60–69%)

Kalia Arthur

Amber da Silva

Tasmin Lee

Nkazimlo Matyolo

Daisy Ndebele